During the summer of 2016, I worked as a digital humanities intern at the American Antiquarian Society (AAS). I was supervised by Molly Hardy, the Digital Humanities Curator at AAS.

DSC01495

During my time there, I digitally published (XML) tagged transcripts of early 19th century ballads. This process included file creation in an Omeka digital collection, TEI cleanup using Oxygen XML Editor, & display of XML using TEI Boilerplate. I designed and published a simple page in Omeka that serves as an index to the transcriptions.

Additionally the internship challenged me to participate in the creation of a Zotero library (currently private, w/ content related to Nat Turner) and a DH reading group (library and publishing history).

Reflecting on my work with Omeka, these are my biggest takeaways:

  • It fills a huge need for collection-based institutions trying to digitize and share their collection with the general public (at little or no cost)
  • The content management system interface is easy to understand and collections can be imported, organized, curated, and navigated intuitively
  • Template design not flashy, but very functional & easy to modify with code
  • Front-end tends to be user friendly

 

