Hi, my name is Samantha Mairson.

This online research notebook is a requirement for my course “Advanced Digital Humanities Practice” at the University of Connecticut.

Preview the course syllabus here.

My Digital Media & Design major offers a concentration in digital humanities (DH). As one of the first undergraduates in my major with this concentration, I serve as pioneer and guinea pig for the course “Advanced Practice in Digital Humanities”.

The Fall 2016 semester will include 3 learning streams:

  • partnership with a museum and grant-affiliated project
  • development of my own project
  • reflections on DH-related course materials

My objective is to learn as much as possible about the growing professional field of digital humanities and the application of this concentration to my intended work with design & librarianship. I have great interest in digital tools applied to research, marketing, and design.

